Mercedes one-two in Brazil, Carlos Sainz on the podium

©Getty Images

Victory for George Russell

A Mercedes one-two at Interlagos, where George Russell after winning the Sprint Race confirmed himself by winning the Brazilian Grand Prix as well.

Second place for Lewis Hamilton who in the final ten laps, with the group recompacted by a safety car, tried at the last but had to settle for another placing.

Also on the podium was Carlos Sainz, who did not let Charles Leclerc pass: the Monegasque, after a race all in a comeback because of a contact with Norris, had asked the pits for a team order. Only sixth was Max Verstappen, who in turn did not let Sergio Perez pass after passing him.

Order of finish.

1 George RUSSELL Mercedes 2
2 Lewis HAMILTON Mercedes+1.529 2
3 Carlos SAINZ Ferrari+4.051 3
4 Charles LECLERC Ferrari+8.441 3
5 Fernando ALONSO Alpine+9.561 3
6 Max VERSTAPPEN Red Bull Racing+10.056 3
7 Sergio PEREZ Red Bull Racing+14.080 2
8 Esteban OCON Alpine+18.690 2
9 Valtteri BOTTAS Alfa Romeo+22.552 2
10 Lance STROLL Aston Martin+23.552 2
11 Sebastian VETTEL Aston Martin+26.183 2
12 Guanyu ZHOU Alfa Romeo+29.325 2
13 Mick SCHUMACHER Haas F1 Team+29.899 2
14 Pierre GASLY AlphaTauri+31.867 3
15 Alexander ALBON Williams+36.016 3
16 Nicholas LATIFI Williams+37.038 3
17 Yuki TSUNODA AlphaTauri1 L 3
18 Lando NORRIS McLaren- 2
19 Kevin MAGNUSSEN Haas F1 Team- – – –
20 Daniel RICCIARDO McLaren- – – –

You may also like...