Giro di Lombardia: Tadej Pogacar triumphs on Vincenzo Nibali’s farewell day

©Getty Images

Pogacar took victory in the last Classic of the year for the second time in his career. Vincenzo Nibali at the farewells

Tadej Pogacar won the Giro di Lombardia, the last monumental Classica of the season, for the second time in his career. The Slovenian cyclist bent over the finish line the Spaniard Enric Mas, the only one who managed to resist the pace of the two-time Tour de France winner. In third place was Mikel Landa.

Pogacar has won Lombardia two times in a row, imitating such champions as Coppi, Bartali, Bettini, and Merckx.

It is farewell day for two cycling greats like Vincenzo Nibali and Alejandro Valverde, both authors of a great race and applauded at the finish line.

These are the top 10:

1 POGACAR Tadej UAE Team Emirates 6:21:22
2 MAS Enric Movistar Team 0:00
3 LANDA Mikel Bahrain – Victorious 0:10
4 HIGUITA Sergio BORA – hansgrohe 0:52
5 RODRÍGUEZ Carlos INEOS Grenadiers 0:52
6 VALVERDE Alejandro Movistar Team 1:24
7 MOLLEMA Bauke Trek – Segafredo 1:24
8 MOLARD Rudy Groupama – FDJ 1:24
9 BARDET Romain Team DSM 1:24
10 YATES Adam INEOS Grenadiers 1:26

You may also like...