Ballon d’Or 2023, the tricolor is seen again among the candidates

©Getty Images

Nicolò Barella è the only Italian among the 30 candidates for the Golden Ball


There'è also the name of Nicolò Barella among those of the 30 candidates for the Ballon d'Oro 2023. The official list, released Wednesday by 'France Football' thus returns to include an Italian athlete for the first time since 2021. The choice of Barella is not a novelty: the former Cagliari player, in fact, was on the shortlist for the 2021 edition, finishing 26th. The award ceremony will take place on October 30.

From the same Inter Milan and Naples the other foreign athletes who have represented in the 2022/23 season (the one that those who vote will have to take into consideration) an Italian club: Kim Min-jae (Napoli, now at Bayern), Kvicha Kvaratskhelia (Napoli), Lautaro Martinez (Inter Milan), André Onana (Inter Milan, now at Manchester United) and Victor Osimhen (Napoli).

The other candidates, however, are Josko Gvardiol (Leipzig, now at Manchester City), Jamal Musiala (Bayern), Karim Benzema (Real Madrid, now at al'Al-Ittihad), Moahamed Salah (Liverpool), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City), Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund, now at Real Madrid), Randal Kolo Muani (Eintracht Frankfurt, now at PSG), Bernardo Silva (Manchester City), Emiliano Martinez (Aston Villa), Ruben Dias (Manchester City), Erling Haaland (Manchester City), Yassine Bounou (Sevilla, now at the'Al-Hilal), Martin Odegaard (Arsenal), Julian Alvarez (Manchester City), Ilkay Gundogan (Manchester City, now at Barcelona), Vinicius Jr (Real Madrid), Lionel Messi (PSG, now at Inter Miami), Rodri (Manchester City), Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid), Robert Lewandowski (Barcelona), Kylian Mbappe (PSG), Luka Modric (Real Madrid) and Harry Kane (Tottenham/Bayern Munich).

Also released, at the same time, the list of the 30 candidates for the Women's Ballon d'Or, with no Italians né at the level of players nor at the level of club representation: they are Georgia Stanway (Bayern Munich), Olga Carmona (Real Madrid), Fridolina Rolfo (Barcelona), Rachel Daly (Aston Villa), Sophia Smith (Portland Thorns), Hayley Raso (Manchester City, now at Real Madrid), Amanda Ilestedt (PSG, now at the'Arsenal), Millie Bright (Chelsea), Salma Paralluelo (Barcelona), Hinata Miyazawa (MyNavi Sendai), Lena Oberdorf (Wolfsburg), Daphne Van Domselaar (Twente, now at al'Aston Villa), Alba Redondo (Levante), Linda Caicedo (Real Madrid), Kadidiatou Diani (PSG, now at Lyon), Ewa Pajor (Wolfsburg), Guro Reiten (Chelsea), Patricia Guijarro (Barcelona), Sam Kerr (Chelsea), Debinha (Kansas City Current), Aitana Bonmati (Barcelona), Alexandra Popp (Wolfsburg), Yui Hasegawa (Manchester City), Jill Roord (Wolfsburg, now at Manchester City), Katie McCabe (Arsenal), Wendie Renard (Lyon), Asisat Oshoala (Barcelona), Mary Earps (Manchester United), Mapi Leon (Barcelona), and Khadija Shaw (Manchester City).

You may also like...