Premier League, Manchester City still champion: new historic record

©Getty Images

Manchester City champion of England

Beating West Ham 3-1 on the final day of the championship, Manchester City not only won its 10th English league title, but did so by setting a new historic record: the Mancunian club è in fact, the first in the history of English soccer to win the top division title four consecutive times.

Against the Hammers, at Manchester's Etihad Stadium, the practice è closed in less than twenty minutes thanks to the scoring streak of Phil Foden, who on 2' put Pep Guardiola&#39s men ahead and on 18' signed the double. Kudus shortens the gap at 42', but Rodri closes the deal definitively at 59', fixing at 3-1 a score that will not change anymore until the triple whistle (at 88' Soucek scores for West Ham, but the Var room signals a touch of hands during the action that thwarts the Czech’s efforts).

Useless, just over 300 km further south, was Arsenal’s success against Everton: at the Emirates Stadium it ended 2-1, with the Toffees’ goal scored by Gueyé in the 40th minute; remounted by goals from Tomiyasu in the 43rd and Havertz in the 89th minute, but the Gunners have to settle for second place overall, just two points behind City.

Thus, the 2023/24 edition of the Premier League has come to an end: in the Champions League go, in addition to Manchester City and Arsenal, Liverpool and Aston Villa; in the Europa League goes Tottenham for sure, while the other place for the second European competition will go to Manchester United in case of winning the FA Cup (final on May 25 against Manchester City) or Chelsea in case of success of the Citizens.

The Blues, should United win the FA Cup, would instead play in the Conference League: also in the window, in that sense, is Newcastle United, which currently does not è qualify for the cups but would end up in the Conference precisely with the victory of Guardiola’s men in the FA Cup. Already known before the last day, finally, the three relegated: these are Luton Town, Burnley and Sheffield United.

You may also like...